Retro Recipe Friday!

retrorecipe

Some of you may already be aware that I am a collector of vintage cookbooks. I have a lovely collection with cookbooks dating back all the way from 1912! It’s fascinating to read about all the ingredients and methods that were used during different times; and the cookbooks that came out around the great depression talking about rationing and substitutions are captivating. They are truly a wonderful piece of history, and I cherish each and every one of them.

So, with that being said, I thought it would be a lot of fun to try a different recipe each week from one of my vintage cookbooks! And with that, voila! Retro Recipe Friday was born! I know some will be delicious, and others maybe not so much, but it’s going to be so much fun cooking these old recipes. I hope that you will enjoy this as much as I do!

So with that, let’s begin!

This weeks recipe came from Betty Crocker’s Hostess Cookbook. This cookbook not only has lovely recipes but serves as a handbook for any hostess. It was published in 1967.

IMG_0750

Cover

IMG_0751

Contents

IMG_0752

One of my favorites from the book, all made of fruit and veggies! If only I were more artistic…

So here it is, the first recipe for Retro Recipe Friday!

IMG_0755

Leave a Reply

